Keynote Speakers

Goyal pic



Amit Goyal
University at Buffalo, USA

TitleHigh-performance, low-cost, single-crystal-like device layers and controlled self-assembly of nanostructures within device layers for wide-ranging energy and electronic applications




Dr. Amit Goyal joined UB in January 2015 as Director of RENEW, the University at Buffalo’s new interdisciplinary institute dedicated to research and education on globally pressing problems in energy, environment and water.  One of the most expansive initiatives launched by UB in recent years, RENEW (Research and Education in eNergy, Environment and Water) will harness the expertise of more than 100 faculty members across six schools and colleges and add more than 20 new faculty members.

He also concurrently holds the title of Empire Innovation Professor at UB in the departments of CBE, EE and Physics. He is also Emeritus Corporate Fellow and Distinguished Scientist at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory and an Emeritus Battelle Distinguished Inventor. In addition, he is the Founder, President & CEO of TapeSolar Inc., a private-equity funded company and also the Founder, President & CEO of TexMat LLC, an IP holding and consulting company.

He has co-authored over 350 publications and has over 80 issued patents.  A recent analysis of citations and papers published worldwide in the field of high-temperature superconductivity, between 1999 and 2009, conducted by Thompson-Reuters’s Essential Science Indicators, ranked him as the most cited author worldwide.  He has received numerous national & international awards of excellence including the prestigious presidential level, 2012 DOE’s E. O. Lawrence Award in the inaugural category of “Energy Science & Innovation” and the 2010 R&D Magazine’s “Innovator of the Year” Award for sustained innovations, eight R&D100 Awards (R&D100 awards are regarded as the “oscars” of innovation), three Federal Laboratory Consortia (FLC) Awards, MIT’s TR-100 Innovator Award, the University of Rochester’s Distinguished Scholar Medal and the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. He was elected member of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) and is a Fellow of eight professional societies including the Materials Research Society (MRS), American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), The American Physical Society (APS), the World Innovation Foundation (WIF), the American Society of Metals (ASM), the Institute of Physics (IOP), the American Ceramic Society (ACERS) and the World Technology Network (WTN).

Operating Organization

University of Electronic Science and Technology of China